Reddick Captures Back-to-Back Xfinity Titles

This year, the Xfinity Series had 3 distinct drivers that set themselves aside from the rest: Christopher Bell, Cole Custer, and Tyler Reddick. They were commonly called the “Big 3” due to their impressive and unstoppable driving as they won a combined 20 races thoughout the season. As proof of their ability, all 3 announced they were moving up to the Cup Series in 2020. To cap off their incredible year, they were part of the Final 4 drivers, joined by Justin Allgaier, who went to Homestead Miami to race for the championship.

LAP 1: Tyler Reddick scored pole position in qualifying and led the field to green. Reddick pulled away with the top spot, though Christopher Bell was close behind.

CAUTION – LAP 5: Before drivers were able to settle into a rhythm, the yellow flag flew for the  #07 of Ray Black Jr, whos engine expired on the front stretch in a huge cloud of smoke.

CAUTION – LAP 14: The caution came out again when the #15 of Tyler Matthews made heavy contact with the wall in Turn 4. The impact affected the right front of the car and left the entire front right tire exposed, forcing  Matthews to end his race early.

CAUTION – LAP 32: The caution flag flew once more before the stage break, this time for debris in Turn 3. Multiple drivers radioed to say there was a piece of metal sticking out from under the SAFER barrier. NASCAR deemed it a safety concern and a crew was deployed to remove the lodged metal. Tyler Reddick lost the lead on pit road and Chase Briscoe took over P1.

STAGE 1 END – LAP 45: Briscoe won the stage, however as the final race of the season, the points were not as valuable as they once were earlier in the year. Cole Custer, Justin Haley, Tyler Reddick, and John Hunter Nemechek completed the Top 5.

LAP 52: When the green flag waved to start the 2nd stage, Austin Cindric claimed the lead and pulled away to an impressive lead.

LAP 60: Championship hopeful Cole Custer experienced adversity when he had to make an unscheduled pit stop due to a loose wheel. Custer was put 1 lap down and spent the rest of the segment putting on a show as he hustled back through the field to unlap himself.

LAP 88: Custer dove to the inside of Cindric in Turn 3 to put himself back on the lead lap. As a result, Custer did not need the wave around and was able to stay on the same pit strategy as his 3 title competitors.

CAUTION – LAP 89: The caution came out one lap before the stage was scheduled to end due for an incident involving Justin Haley and Harrison Burton. Haley slid up the track on the frontstretch and squeezed Burton into the wall. This resulted in damage to both of their cars, though they were about to continue.

STAGE 2 END – LAP 90: The stage ended under caution and Austin Cindric collected the segment win. Christopher Bell, Justin Allgaier, Tyler Reddick, and Chase Briscoe rounded out the Top 5. Cole Custer finished Stage 2 in P18, still on the lead lap. After pit stops, Bell briefly picked up the lead, but it was Tyler Reddick who took P1 on the restart.

CAUTION – LAP 96: Debris in Turn 4 caused the 5th caution of the race to be displayed.

CAUTION – LAP 122: The final caution of the day was for the #98 of Chase Briscoe, who had a tire go down and got into the wall in Turn 1. Briscoe overcame the damage and went on to finish in the 3rd position and won this season’s Rookie of The Year award.

LAP 130: A heated battle for the lead began between The Big 3 as the drivers swapped the top spot back and forth and Bell was able to take and hold P1 over Reddick and Custer.

Lap 153: Bell’s #20 Toyota Supra started to fade as he was passed by Reddick for the lead and then passed again by Custer for 2nd place. Bell’s night went from bad to worse when just a few laps later, he and his team descided to short pit and he missed the entrance to pit road. This cost Bell considerable time and put him back in 5th place when everything cycled through, essentially eliminating him from a championship run.

LAP 167: Custer got a big run on the outside and dove to the bottom of the track to pass Reddick.

LAP 179: The hunt was on for Tyler Reddick as he made short work of Custer’s 0.8-second lead, cutting it down to 0.1 in just 2 laps. Reddick traded the top spot with Custer several times before proving he had the better car.

LAP 182: Reddick made an aggressive pass on the inside of Custer and took the lead in the race and the championship standings. Custer was running the highline in an attempt to gain speed, but tagged the wall giving Reddick more of a lead.

CHECKERED FLAG – LAP 200: Reddick crossed the line just 1-second ahead of Cole Custer to win his second Xfinity Series championship. This season, Reddick had 5 victories compared to just 2 in 2018, when he won his first title. Reddick will be moving up the Cup Series in 2020 to drive the #8 Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.


  1. Tyler Reddick
  2. Cole Custer
  3. Chase Briscoe
  4. Noah Gragson
  5. Christopher Bell
  6. John H Nemechek
  7. Austin Cindric
  8. Brandon Jones
  9. Jeb Burton
  10. Harrison Burton
  11. Michael Annett
  12. Ryan Sieg
  13. Brandon Brown
  14. Justin Allgaier
  15. Landon Cassill
  16. Jeremy Clements
  17. Gray Gaulding
  18. Alex Labbe
  19. Josh Williams
  20. BJ Mcleod
  21. Colin Garrett
  22. Will Rodgers
  23. David Starr
  24. Stephen Leicht
  25. Ja Junior Avila
  26. Vinnie Miller
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Robby Lyons
  29. Joe Nemechek
  30. Matt Mills
  31. CJ McLaughlin
  32. Garrett Smithley
  33. Justin Haley
  34. Timmy Hill
  35. Chad Finchum
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Tyler Matthews
  38. Ray Black Jr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit Us
Follow Me