Newgarden Victorious at Rain Delayed Iowa 300

Nearly 5 hours after the Iowa 300 was scheduled to start, the race finally got underway, just minutes before midnight on the East Coast. The delay was caused by intense rain over Iowa Speedway that washed grip from the track and made the surface cooler. This created unknown tire conditions and anxious drivers, which came together to create a great race.

LAP 1: The Penske teammates of Simon Pagenaud and Will Power comprised the front row, with 3rd teammate Josef Newgarden in P3, and they led the field to green. Power got around Pagenaud for P1 while Takuma Sato, who started 4th, overtook both Josef Newgarden and Pagenaud

CAUTION – LAP 16: Coming out of Turn 4, the #31 of Sage Karam spun sideways right in front of Felix Rosenqvist while racing for position. Rosenqvist clipped the front wing of Karam, causing damage to both cars.

LAP 26: The restart saw Power pull away once again from his Penske teammates as well as Takuma Sato. Power’s power (pardon the pun) was on full display as he gapped 2nd place by over 2 seconds, putting up lap times in the 19-second range.

LAP 49: Once Power caught up to lapped traffic, the performance of his car began to fade, allowing Josef Newgarden to catch up, get past him, and take the lead.

CAUTION – LAP 54: The yellow flag came out when rain began to sprinkle once again. The field was brought down pit lane as the race was red flagged.  Track dryers were imediately deployed to start drying the 0.8-mile surface.

LAP 66: A little over half-an-hour after the caution came out, Newgarden took the green flag to restart the 300-lap race ahead of his teammates, who still occupied the top 3 spots.

According to IndyCar rules, the race must be run until the halfway-point (in this case, 150 laps) before the event can be declared official.

LAP 85: Josef Newgarden continued to lead, despite catching lapped traffic.

LAP 112: Will Power caught Newgarden and started to challenge for the top spot, but Newgarden managed to lap all but 13 cars, putting a big gap between himself and Power.

LAP 137: Simon Pagenaud gave up P3 to pit for new Firestone tires. This triggered a handful of drivers to follow including Newgarden, Power,  Spencer Pigot, Alexander Rossi, and James Hinchcliffe. The top two spots cycled back to Newgarden and Power respectively, while Pagenaud fell back to 6th.

LAP 186: Newgarden continued his reign as he lapped Alexander Rossi in 7th place, putting just 6 cars on the lead lap.

CAUTION – LAP 187: Takuma Sato got a big run coming off of Turn 4 behind Will Power, who slid up the track to block the incoming pass. Sato checked up and was plowed into by Sage Karam, who was still battling from his earlier incident.

LAP 204: On the restart, rookie Santino Ferrucci made an incredible move on the outside line and passed 6 cars at once in Turn 2. Meanwhile, Newgarden took off with the lead once again as Power and Pagenaud followed in P2 and 3.

LAP 232: All at once, Takuma Sato, Marco Andretti, and Sage Karam retired from the race— Karam and Sato with damage and Andretti was parked by IndyCar for not maintaining minimum speed.

LAP 263: After making his pit stop, Will Power was given a penalty for an improper pit entry. The penalty was a stop-and-go; however, as he was leaving pit lane the caution came out and trapped him a lap down, eliminating him from contention for the win.

CAUTION – LAP 264: Ed Carpenter got loose in Turn 2 and smacked the wall, damaging the front wing. Carpenter came to a dead stop on the backstretch and triggered a yellow that gave a lot of drivers a shot at the win, or at least a podium finish.

LAP 275: With 25 laps remaining, the race restarted with Josef Newgarden still leading. James Hinchcliffe muscled his way into second palce, ahead of Simon Pagenaud, Scott Dixon, and Spencer Pigot in the top 5.

LAP 285: Dixon made the move on Pagenaud and Hinchcliffe and began to hunt down Newgarden with 15 laps to go.

LAP 300: Josef Newgarden managed to stay ahead of Scott Dixon to win his 4th race of the season. The race finally ended at 2:15 am EST, but for IndyCar fans, every sleepless moment was worth it for this action-packed race.


  1. Josef Newgarden
  2. Scott Dixon
  3. James Hinchcliffe
  4. Simon Pagenaud
  5. Spencer Pigot
  6. Alexander Rossi
  7. Zach Veach
  8. Graham Rahal
  9. Sebastian Bourdais
  10. Tony Kanaan
  11. Marcus Ericsson
  12. Santino Ferrucci
  13. Conor Daly
  14. Felix Rosenqvist
  15. Will Power
  16. Matheus Leist
  17. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  18. Colton Herta
  19. Ed Carpenter
  20. Takuma Sato
  21. Marco Andretti
  22. Sage Karam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit Us
Follow Me