Rossi Dominates at Road America

Rossi Dominates at Road America

There’s no question that Colton Herta is a prodigy and the future of IndyCar racing. At just 19-years-old, Herta has already won a race, set the record for the youngest race winner in IndyCar history, and just this weekend set the record for the youngest pole-sitter. Herta’s qualifying lap was one to be admired and put him on the front row with Andretti Autosport driver Alexander Rossi.

LAP 1: As impressive as Herta is, Rossi proved experience is key at Road America as he powered around the outside of the younger driver and took off with the lead. Coming into Turn 5, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Scott Dixon both went wide with Hunter-Reay tapping the back of Dixon and sending him around. Both cars were able to continue the race, but Dixon was at the tail end of the field.

LAP 3: The close-quarter racing continued as James Hinchcliffe and Takuma Sato made contact heading into Turn 3. Both made the corner but Sato was pushed off the track and into the grass.

LAP 6: Retired Formula 1 driver Marcus Ericcson locked up the tires and shot into the gravel run-off in Turn 5. Ericcson managed to keep it out of the wall and continued in the race.

LAP 13: Will Power tried to squeeze Colton Herta to the bottom of the track while racing for 2nd place. Herta bumped the side of Power on corner exit, but both cars escaped without damage. A few laps later, things went wrong for Herta when he had a slow pit stop. A problem with the fuel nozzle saw the #88 lose several positions while stuck on pit road.

LAP 22: Similar to the way Power squeezed him, Herta pulled the same move on Simon Pagenaud in Turn 5. They made contact and Herta went into the gravel pit.

LAP 44: While racing for position, the teammates of Patricio O’Ward and Max Chilton made contact when Chilton side-swiped O’Ward to get ahead.

LAP 55: Alexander Rossi was in a different race to the rest of the field as he ran with a 26-second lead over the second place car. After 3-runner up finishes this season, he won the REV Group GP. While coming to the checkered, Herta overshot the fastest turn on the track and went into the grass.


  1. Alexander Rossi
  2. Will Power
  3. Josef Newgarden
  4. Graham Rahal
  5. Scott Dixon
  6. Felix Rosenqvist
  7. James Hinchcliffe
  8. Colton Herta
  9. Simon Pagenaud
  10. Takuma Sato
  11. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  12. Sebastien Bourdais
  13. Marcus Ericsson
  14. Spencer Pigot
  15. Jack Harvey
  16. Max Chilton
  17. Patricio O’Ward
  18. Zach Veach
  19. Santino Ferrucci
  20. Matheus Leist
  21. Tony Kanaan
  22. Ed Jones
  23. Marco Andretti