Power Prevails in Portland

With the championship leaderboard tightening between Team Penske drivers Josef Newgarden and Simon Pagenaud, the second-last race of the IndyCar season was shaping up to be a thriller. And a thriller it was. 

CAUTION – LAP 1: The race came to a halt before it even started when, heading into the Turn 1 bus stop, Graham Rahal carried too much speed into the corner and drove straight into the side of Zach Veach. The inccident collected James Hinchcliffe and Conor Daly, who, along with Rahal and Veach, were out for the day. Also involved were Takuma Sato and Simon Pagenaud, though both drivers were able to continue racing. 

CAUTION – LAP 14: Similar to the first caution, Ryan Hunter-Reay dove to the inside of Jack Harvey in Turn 1 and didn’t make the corner. The two cars spun and bounced over the curbs resulting in a lot of damage. 

LAP 37: Pole-sitter Colton Herta lost the lead to an aggresive Scott Dixon. Herta’s tires began to fade quickly as he fell to 5th place after being passed by Will Power, Alexander Rossi, and Felix Rosenqvist. 

LAP 54: Scott Dixon experienced a battery issue that saw him lose power while leading. Dixon made it to pit road and had to be pushed to his pit for a battery swap that put him 3 laps down, in 17th position. Will Power inherited the lead. 

LAP 73: The final round of pit stops began with Colton Herta who had worked his way back into the 4th position. Power, Rosenqvist, and Rossi also came in to pit, with Power cycling back to the top spot. 

CAUTION – LAP 97: The yellow flag waved for the rookie, Santino Ferrucci, who came to a stop on the straightaway with a power issue. This forced a 4-lap shootout to the end. 

LAP 101: Power pulled away on the restart with 20 seconds more ‘push-to-pass’ than Alexander Rossi in 2nd. 

CHECKERED FLAG – LAP 105: It was smooth sailing for Power during the final 4 laps as he cruised to his second win of the season. 


  1. Will Power
  2. Felix Rosenqvist
  3. Alexander Rossi
  4. Colton Herta
  5. Josef Newgarden
  6. Spencer Pigot
  7. Simon Pagenaud
  8. Matheus Leist
  9. Sebastien Bourdais
  10. Charlie Kimball
  11. Max Chilton
  12. Tony Kanaan
  13. Marco Andretti
  14. Ed Jones
  15. Takuma Sato
  16. Scott Dixon
  17. Santino Ferrucci
  18. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  19. Jack Harvey
  20. James Hinchcliffe
  21. Conor Daly
  22. Zach Veach
  23. Granham Rahal 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *