Newgarden is Champion, Herta Wins Race

The NTT IndyCar Series season came down to one race at the iconic Laguna Seca road course in Monterey, California. Only 4 drivers were still contenders for the championship – Josef Newgarden (leader), Alexander Rossi (-41 points), Simon Pagenaud (-42 points), and Scott Dixon (-85 points). With the race paying 2x the normal amount of points for finishing positions, the championship was anyone’s for the taking.

LAP 1: Colton Herta, the rookie sensation was on pole and managed to pull away from a very aggressive Scott Dixon.

LAP 14: Simon Pagenaud was charging through the field with fresh tires after his pitstop but was forced into the dirt runoff when Alexander Rossi refused to surrender the position. Pagenaud fought back and forced Rossi off the track on the straight-away to claim the spot.

LAP 16: Josef Newgarden was overtaken by both Pagenaud and Rossi; however, he still held onto the championship lead since Pagenaud and Rossi would need to win the race in order to secure the title.

CAUTION – LAP 44: Marco Andretti pinched his teammate Connor Daly in the corner. Daly spun around and got stuck on the curb, forcing the yellow flag to wave.

LAP 49: Santino Ferrucci locked up his tires after the restart, sliding into the right rear of Takuma Sato and collected Ed Jones as well. Jones and Ferrucci retired from the race

LAP 66: A tough fight for 3rd place broke out between Simon Pagenaud and Scott Dixon as they battled for points. Dixon eventually claimed the spot as Felix Rosenqvist moved Pagenaud out of the way and into the dirt to steal 4th place.

CHECKERED FLAG – LAP 90: Colton Herta crossed the line for his 2nd win in his rookie season while Newgarden crossed in 8th to pick up the second championship of his career

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *