Ericsson Survives 2-Lap-Sprint for Indy 500 Win

Ericsson Survives 2-Lap-Sprint for Indy 500 Win

The Indianapolis 500 is a race that needs no introduction- it’s one of the most historic, coveted, and iconic motorsports events of all time.

LAP 1: Scott Dixon led the field to the green flag after securing his 5th-career Indy 500 pole position with a record-breaking average speed of 234 mph. Dixon easily pulled away from the field, something that he would continue to do throughout the day.

CAUTION – LAP 39: The first caution came out relatively early in the race when Rinus Veekay, who started on the first row, crashed in Turn 2. Veekay’s #21 Chevrolet spun and backed into the outside wall resulting in a totalled race car and ending his day.

CAUTION – LAP 70: The yellow flag waved for the #77 of Callum Ilott, who hit the outside wall in Turn 2 in the exact same spot as VeeKay. The rookie driver spun down the backstretch and then made contact again with the inside wall where he finally came to a stop and his race came to an end.

CAUTION – LAP 106: Just past the halfway mark lap in the race, Romain Grosjean brought out the third caution. The rear of his #28 Honda stepped out in Turn 2 and made heavy contact with the wall, ending the Frenchman’s day.

LAP 130: While Scott Dixon continued to lead, the #26 of Colton Herta had to retire from the race due to mechanical issues.

CAUTION – LAP 152: Scott McLaughlin triggered the fourth yellow of the day as the rear of his #3 Team Penske Chevrolet stepped out and collided heavily with the outside SAFER barrier.

LAP 176: Scott Dixon surrendered the lead to make his final pit stop of the race. Unfortunately, he was caught speeding on pit road and had to serve a pass-through penalty which took him out of contention for the win. His teammate Marcus Ericsson inherited the lead with 24 laps to go.

CAUTION – LAP 194: Just 6 laps before the checkered flag, the caution came out for the #48 of Jimmie Johnson. The NASCAR legend got too low in turn 2, clipping the grass and spinning head-first into the SAFER barrier. The race was red-flagged as INDYCAR promised fans a shootout to the checkered.

LAP 198: The race restarted with 2 laps to go and Pato O’ward in hot pursuit of Ericsson. The Mexican tried to make the pass on the outside in Turn 1 but backed out in fear of being wrecked.

CAUTION / CHECKERED FLAG – LAP 200: Coming to the checkered flag, the yellow was quickly displayed when Sage Karam crashed on the final lap. Ericsson crossed the bricks to win his first Indianapolis 500, only his 3rd career victory in the series.


  1. Marcus Ericsson
  2. Pato O’Ward
  3. Tony Kanaan
  4. Felix Rosenqvist
  5. Alexander Rossi
  6. Conor Daly
  7. Helio Castroneves
  8. Simon Pagenaud
  9. Alex Palou
  10. Santino Ferrucci
  11. Juan Pablo Montoya
  12. JR Hildebrand
  13. Josef Newgarden
  14. Graham Rahal
  15. Will Power
  16. David Malukas
  17. Kyle Kirkwood
  18. Ed Carpenter
  19. Devlin DeFrancesco
  20. C Lundgaard
  21. Scott Dixon
  22. Marco Andretti
  23. Sage Karam
  24. Jack Harvey
  25. Takuma Sato
  26. Dalton Kellett
  27. Stefan Wilson
  28. Jimmie Johnson
  29. Scott McLaughlin
  30. Colton Herta
  31. Romain Grosjean
  32. Callum Ilott
  33. Rinus VeeKay